Tuna & Spinach Meatballs

Sunday has always been my favorite day of the week. It’s the best for sleeping in, getting the week’s (or if you plan ahead: next week’s) errands done, catching up with friends and/or family, or simply taking it easy. I’ve tried to always make sure I have Sunday off for the entirety of my working life, and I feel as though it keeps me sane.

T0day, however, I picked up a short shift at work. It wasn’t terrible, and I got a lot of researching done on the computer. A little extra money never hurts.

I was, however, super hungry by the end of my shift and not sure what to throw together when I got home. Most of the time I will stop at Jewel for groceries, but I was too tired for that today. I knew I wanted spinach to get my daily intake of vitamin A, and the only protein I had in the house was a Lemon Pepper Tuna packet from StarKist. After browsing Pinterest for some ideas, I landed on tuna and spinach meatballs.

This was easy to throw together, delicious, and very budget/time friendly!

 

Tuna & Spinach Meatballs

~Makes 4 meatballs

Ingredients

  • 1 packet StarKist Lemon Pepper tuna packet (or any flavor tuna)
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup spinach
  • 1 tablespoon chive, cut
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup 2% milkfat colby jack cheese divided
  • 1/2 cup of canned fire roasted garlic tomatoes
  • Dash of Louisianna hot sauce (or your favorite hot sauce)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lay a sheet of aluminum foil on a baking sheet and spray with nonstick spray.
  2. Place the tuna, breadcrumbs, chili powder, garlic powder, spinach, chive, egg, and half the cheese in a mixing bowl.
  3. Mix with hands to combine (going to get a little messy, there’s a bit of liquid in these ingredients).
  4. Form in to 4 meatballs and place 2 inches apart on aluminum foil
  5. Bake for 12 minutes
  6. When finished, sprinkle the other half of cheese over the meatballs. It’s okay if it falls on to the foil, this will make “crisps”
  7. Bake for another 3-4 minutes
  8. While finishing their final bake, combine tomatoes and hot sauce and heat through in the microwave or in a pan
  9. Spread tomatoes on a plate, place the meatballs on top, and then sprinkle the leftover cheese “crisps” over the dish. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

